Name:

Octofactor

Alternative name:

Human blood coagulation factor VIII

Type of medical product:

Protein based

Novelty:

Biosimilar

Field:

Congenital diseases

Indications for use:

Haemophilia, Type A

Status:

Registered

This protein biologic is a B-domain deleted recombinant factor VIII (FVIII). Factor VIII is required for the factor X-dependent activation by proteases, generated by internal blood clotting mechanism. The deficiency of factor VIII disturbs haemostasis and causes development of haemophilia type A. The frequency of detected haemophilia ranges from 7 to 18 per 100 000 in men (1 in 30 000 live births in boys). 87-94% of these patients have haemophilia type A.

Currently, there is approximately 5,400 patients with haemophilia are registered in the Russian Federation. Amont those 4,700 have haemophilia type A. The estimated prevalence of haemophilia in Russia is more than 8,500. Approximately 7,000 of those patients are the patients with haemophilia type A. In 60% of cases the symptoms of the disease are severe. Bleeding episodes usually begin in early childhood and can occur in any anatomical site, but mostly occurs in the joints and muscles. Recurrent bleeding leads to the disorders and deformation of joints, development of muscle contractures and atrophy.

Treatment of haemophilia A is based on the replacement therapy administered as intravenous doses of factor VIII. Development of the recombinant factor VIII is a milestone in the treatment of haemophilia A, as recombinant products have a low risk for human pathogen transmission.

The problem of blood product contamination by different viruses was highlighted in 1984, when most of the haemophilia patients in some countries (mainly the U. S.) were found to be HIV-positive because of the contaminated plasma coagulation factor concentrates. A few years after the onset of AIDS, hepatitis C virus was also identified. Research has shown that 90% of the infected patients were haemophiliacs. The problem of viral contamination and purity of the blood products helped to promote the development of recombinant coagulation factor products. However, the use of these products is limited even in developed countries due to their high costs.

A few imported recombinant factor VIII medications are registered in Russia, but the recombinant factor VIII is not available domestically. Plasmatic (non-recombinant) factor VIII is represented by imported medical products and domestic cryoprecipitate.

The human recombinant factor VIII is in our pipeline and is currently in phase II/III clinical trial.

Our Partners:

  • CJSC “Generium”

Название:

Октофактор

Альтернативное название:

Фактор VIII свертываемости крови человека

Тип препарата:

Белковый

Новизна:

Биоаналог

Область:

Наследственные заболевания

Показания к применению:

Гемофилия, тип А

Статус:

Зарегистрирован

Представляет собой препарат рекомбинантного В-домен делетированного фактора свертывания крови VIII (FVIII). Фактор VIII необходим для активации фактора Х протеазами, образующимися по внутреннему механизму свертывания крови. Дефицит фактора вызывает нарушение гемостаза и развитие патологии гемофилии А. Частота выявляемых форм гемофилии, то есть достаточно выраженных разновидностей болезни, колеблется от 7 до 18 на 100 000 жителей мужского пола (1 из 30 000 живорождённых мальчиков). Из этого числа 87–94% приходится на гемофилию А.

В настоящее время в Российской Федерации зарегистрировано приблизительно 5 400 больных гемофилией, из них 4 700 – с гемофилией А. Теоретически рассчитанное количество больных гемофилией в России составляет более 8 500, из них более 7 000 больных гемофилией А. В 60% случаев болезнь протекает в тяжелой форме. Кровотечения обычно начинаются в раннем детстве, могут захватывать любые анатомические участки, но наиболее часто происходят в суставах и мышцах. Повторяющиеся кровотечения приводят к суставным нарушениям и деформации, образованию контрактур и атрофии мышц.

Лечение гемофилии типа А основано на заместительной терапии – внутривенном введении препаратов фактора VIII. Получение рекомбинантных факторов VIII является значительным событием в терапии гемофилии А, поскольку рекомбинантные продукты отличаются низким риском передачи человеческих патогенов.

Проблема заражения препаратов крови различными вирусами высветилась в 1984 году, когда большинство больных гемофилией в некоторых странах (в первую очередь в США) оказалось ВИЧ-инфицированными из-за использования зараженных плазматических концентратов факторов свертывания. Через несколько лет после начала эпидемии СПИДа был идентифицирован и вирус гепатита С. Выяснилось, что им инфицированы 90% больных гемофилией. Помимо тщательной проработки вопроса безопасности препаратов крови проблема вирусной контаминации продвинула создание рекомбинантных препаратов факторов свертывания крови. Однако их применение даже в развитых странах ограничивается высокой стоимостью.

В России зарегистрированы несколько импортных препаратов рекомбинантного фактора VIII, отечественного рекомбинантного фактора VIII нет. Плазматический (не рекомбинантный) фактор VIII представлен импортными препаратами и отечественным криопреципитатом.

В настоящее время препарат находится в фазе II/III клинических испытаний.

Партнеры:

  • ЗАО «Генериум»